Hunter Education Certification: Instructor-led
This course will provide instruction in the areas of: firearm handling and safety; hunting law and ethics; responsibilities towards landowners; hunting skills; wildlife identification; survival skills and first aid; and management and conservation.
Hunter Education Certification Cards
Hunter Education Certification cards will be awarded to students upon successful completion of the course, which includes attending all class sessions, passing the field exercises and a written test.
Who needs Hunter Education?
If you were born on or after January 1, 1975, you must complete a hunter education course to purchase a hunting license OR show proof of a previously held license in Idaho or another state.
- Recommended for students ages 9-14 years of age or anyone new to hunting.
- A parent must check in students under age 18.
Individuals with disabilities may request reasonable accommodations by contacting the Idaho Department of Fish and Game hunter education coordinators at fish and game offices or the State Hunter Education Coordinators office at 208-287-2872. Please allow a minimum of 30 days advanced notice for the Department to arrange a course and requested accommodations. Individuals can connect with the Idaho Relay Service or TDD at 1-800-368-6185.
Did you know that Idaho offers an online plus field day hunter education class?
Start the Idaho online course today.