Hunter Education Field Day Course
OverviewHunter education is a mandatory program that is designed to introduce students to several life-long skills that are important to many different types of outdoor recreational opportunities. The course teaches students basic survival and first aid skills, water safety, wildlife identification, and the basics of wildlife management, hunting laws, and firearm/archery safety. Hunter education also stresses the importance of individual responsibility and outdoor ethics.
Iowa law requires that anyone born after January 1, 1972 must be certified in hunter education before they are eligible to purchase an Iowa hunting license.
Typically there is no charge for the course, unless lunch is furnished or room rental is required. If a charge is required for the items mentioned previously, the class will indicate the amount to be charged in the special instructions section prior to completing the class registration process. All charges must be paid upon arrival to the class in the form of cash or check.
About the Class
Hunter Education Field Day courses are offered by knowledgeable and certified volunteer instructors and Iowa Conservation Officers.
Field Day courses are typically 4-5 hours in length and include firearms handling, ethics & responsibility, Iowa hunting laws, and a final exam. In order to receive certification, a student must successfully complete an Iowa approved online Hunter Education Course prior to registering and attending a field day. To locate an approved Iowa Online Hunter Education Course visit: www.iowadnr.gov/huntered. Both approved internet courses require a fee payable to the provider upon completion in order to receive a field day voucher. Students will be required to provide a field day voucher to the instructor upon arrival to the field day. The student must also pass the final exam in order to receive certification.
We do not prevent attendance based on age; however:
- Any child under 11 years of age must be accompanied by a parent or guardian during every session.
- A person who is 11 years old or older may enroll in a course, but those who are 11 and successfully complete the course shall be issued a certificate which becomes valid on that person's 12th birthday.
Sep 21 Sat
Registration Open 40 of 40 seats remaining
Location & Schedule
Butch Olofson Shooting Range Polk City, IA 50226
- Saturday, September 21, 2019 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Oct 12 Sat
Registration Opens on August 1, 2019
Location & Schedule
Izaak Walton League - Ottumwa Ottumwa, IA 52501
- Saturday, October 12, 2019 7:45am - 12:00pm