Iowa Advanced Skills and Opportunities


Overview

Advanced Skills and Opportunities classes are typically designed for students who have already completed the basic Hunter Education class. Advanced Skills and Opportunities classes include but are not limited to: Fur Harvester Education, Bowhunter Education, Wingshooting Education, Mentored Hunts, Species Specific Seminars, Treestand Safety Seminars, and Firearms Specific Seminars.

Show additional information

These programs are designed to provide the student with advanced knowledge and training on a particular topic of interest in order to further their understanding and success in the hunting field.

About the Class

Advanced Skills and Opportunities classes are typically one day in length and are held throughout the state.

Some classes require an additional charge for materials and supplies. If a class requires an additional charge, it will be indicated in the special instructions section prior to completing the class registration process. All charges must be paid upon arrival to the class in the form of cash or check.

Age-Related Information

Minimum age to register will vary upon the class type. Be sure to review the special instructions section during the registration process for any restrictions.

Find events near you

— OR —
or

July 2019

  • Jul 13 Sat

    View Event

    Wingshooting Clinic

    Special Registration

    Location & Schedule

    Izaak Walton League - Ames Ames, IA 50010

    • Saturday, July 13, 2019 9:00am - 4:00pm
  • Jul 25 Thu

    View Event

    Bowhunting 101 for Hunters

    Registration Open 28 of 30 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    Butch Olofson Shooting Range Polk City, IA 50226

    • Thursday, July 25, 2019 6:00pm - 9:00pm

August 2019

  • Aug 1 Thu

    View Event

    Trail Cameras - How/When/Where for hunting and security

    Registration Open 30 of 30 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    Butch Olofson Shooting Range Polk City, IA 50226

    • Thursday, August 1, 2019 6:00pm - 8:00pm
  • Aug 8 Thu

    View Event

    Take a beginner outdoors

    Registration Open 30 of 30 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    Butch Olofson Shooting Range Polk City, IA 50226

    • Thursday, August 8, 2019 6:00pm - 8:00pm
  • Aug 10 Sat

    View Event

    Dutch oven cooking

    Registration Open 20 of 20 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    Butch Olofson Shooting Range Polk City, IA 50226

    • Saturday, August 10, 2019 1:00pm - 5:00pm
  • Aug 15 Thu

    View Event

    Dove Hunting 101

    Registration Open 40 of 40 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    Butch Olofson Shooting Range Polk City, IA 50226

    • Thursday, August 15, 2019 6:00pm - 8:30pm
  • Aug 19 Mon

    View Event

    Hunt Iowa Social

    Registration Open 200 of 200 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    Saylorville Fire Department Des Moines, IA 50313

    • Monday, August 19, 2019 6:00pm - 8:00pm
  • Aug 22 Thu

    View Event

    Finding a place to hunt - Access 101

    Registration Open 30 of 30 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    Butch Olofson Shooting Range Polk City, IA 50226

    • Thursday, August 22, 2019 6:00pm - 8:30pm
  • Aug 29 Thu

    View Event

    Treestand Setup and Safety

    Registration Open 30 of 30 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    Butch Olofson Shooting Range Polk City, IA 50226

    • Thursday, August 29, 2019 6:00pm - 8:30pm

September 2019

  • Sep 14 Sat

    View Event

    Handgun Basics with shooting

    Registration Open 15 of 15 seats remaining

    Location & Schedule

    Butch Olofson Shooting Range Polk City, IA 50226

    • Saturday, September 14, 2019 5:30pm - 8:30pm
RSS